About Feral deer

There are six species of deer (family Cervidae) in Australia;

  1. fallow (Cervus [Dama] dama),
  2. red, wapiti or elk (Cervus elaphus);
  3. hog (Cervus [Axis] porcinus);
  4. chital, axis or spotted deer (Cervus [Axis] axis);
  5. Timor or rusa (Cervus timorensis) and
  6. sambar (Cervus unicolor).

Visit the planning tab to find out more on how to identify these species.

In addition to wapiti, fallow, sambar and rusa deer, white-tailed (Odocoileus virginianus) and sika (Cervus nippon) are also established in New Zealand. All were introduced as game animals by Europeans soon after settlement.

Our deer area is currently under major development in consultation with our national collaboration of deer researchers, more management information will become available soon.

Watch this great Meet the Ferals episode on deer titled “The complex conundrum of wild deer in Australia”

Case Studies


Centre for Invasive Species Solutions